Racer X’s Second Heat, Track by Track

Second Heat is, without a doubt, my favorite album of all time. The guitars are going at full force, the rhythm section is top-notch, the songs are well-written and catchy, it’s the complete package. I consider it the shining star of Shrapnel’s entire catalog. This past February marked the album’s 30-year anniversary, so as a late tribute, I’ll go track-by-track reminiscing about each song from the album.


Sacrifice

“Sacrifice” is such a great introduction to the album, and it really highlights how Racer X’s sound matured from Street Lethal. To me, this song signifies a much darker and more mature album on the horizon. From the opening arpeggios, which slam you over the head with aggression, to Scott Travis’ thrash-inspired beat carrying the song, this first track is a powerhouse. It also introduces a pretty common motif on this album, which is emphasizing the vocal harmonies on the verse right after the guitar solo.

Gone Too Far

How the riff from “Gone Too Far” isn’t one of the most famous in rock history is beyond me. I went nuts over the diminished deal when I first heard this song, and I still do. The solo from this song is a contender for best on the album. When the rhythm section drops out and Paul plays that Emaj7 arpeggio… Christ. Bruce’s part in the solo is alright, but I liked the way he plays it now in the Racer X medley a lot more.

Scarified

There are two things that piss me off about the Racer X catalog. The first is that we never got a studio recording of “Scit Scat Wah”. The second is that we never got a professional live recording of “Scarified”.  Every section of this song is nuts, but I think most guitar players will agree that the pre-chorus arpeggios are the toughest to really nail. The way Paul and Bruce sequenced those, I don’t know what they were thinking. The solo section is top-notch, and I really dig what Paul does with the rhythm guitar during Bruce’s part. And just when you thought it couldn’t get crazier, the string-skipping outro comes in and kicks your ass. I can’t say for sure that that section alone is why Bruce got carpal tunnel, but I’m pretty confident. All things said, “Scarified” is one of the greatest instrumental pieces ever put to tape.

Sunlit Nights

Racer X definitely has some songs where they were obviously trying to go for commercial appeal, but they seldom compromised the quality of the song. Something funny, the clean chords from the verse are the same as the ones in the interlude from “Master of Puppets”. The harmonized arpeggio sequence from the end of the solo is one of my favorite Paul Gilbert licks, and I’m pretty sure this is the only time he ever used it in a Racer X song. Other than that, I’ve only ever seen him use it in the Intense Rock video and in some old clinic tapes. Cheesy as it is, “Sunlit Nights” is a solid tune even though it gives me absolutely 0 indication as to what the hell a “sun-lit night” is.

Hammer Away

“Hammer Away” is another one of those commercially-appealing songs, and it was my favorite for a while. One of the best intro solos in heavy metal history, and one of my favorite rhythm guitar parts from the entire Racer X catalog. On Extreme Volume II, they open this one up with an adaption of “A Whiter Shade Of Pale”, I always liked that.

Heart Of A Lion

This song, to me, proves that Racer X was just operating on an entirely different level than everyone else. With no disrespect to either Judas Priest or the guys in Halford, I’ve never heard any other version of this song even come close to this one. The solo in this song is pure perfection, and the tapping part starting on the “and” of the 4 beat is just brilliant. I remember watching an old tape where Bruce talks about how tough the outro to that solo is. Something else that makes Racer X’s version stand out is that they used a clean tone and arpeggiated the chords during the verses.

Motor Man

Probably one of the more well-known tracks from this album, but definitely my least favorite. That’s not to say that it’s bad, though. The way the intro modulates from D to B is cool, Juan Alderete has some really good lines on this one, and I do have to give Paul and Bruce credit for playing those opening arpeggios. I’ve heard on multiple occasions that they consider that the hardest sequence in the entire Racer X catalog. I’m not sure if this is intentional, but the lead-in to the solo sounds a lot like a locomotive starting to move. Pretty decent track, but it’s not particularly memorable as a listener.

Moonage Daydream

A really cool take on the Bowie song, definitely. The spacey vibe of the album blends really well with the way this song was originally constructed. I think this is the best Bruce Bouillet solo on the album. Paul coming in right after with the minor 7th string skips just seals the deal. A lot of Bowie purists might turn their noses up at this, but I think they’re missing out.

Living The Hard Way

The lyrics on this one are 80’s cheese to the max, but I don’t care. It’s a great song, despite being one of the weaker ones on the album. The rhythm guitar is obviously very Van Halen-inspired, and I think it works pretty well. Especially with Scott Travis doing the double bass during the chorus. Decent solo. Truth be told, I think I listen to the drums on this track more than anything.

Lady Killer

Even among Racer X fans, I don’t hear this one come up much even though I think it’s one of their strongest tracks they ever put out. I’m surprised this one didn’t get more radio play. It’s got a really strong riff and one of the best Racer X solos ever; the sweep-tapping section played in harmony is just nuts and Bruce’s diminished thing is one of the best moments on the album. Love the nod to “Ain’t Talkin’ Bout Love” in the chorus. My only complaint with this song is that Jeff’s vocals are kind of grating on this one, but not so much that I can’t listen to it.

Leave a comment